## <u>14th National Dairy Products Judging Contest</u> Sponsored by Amul at SMC College of Dairy Science

SMC College of Dairy Science, a pioneer institution in the field of Dairy Education and its Alumni Association have been hosting National Dairy Products Judging Contest for the last thirteen years with the aim to provide necessary exposure in judging and sensory evaluation of dairy products. The 14<sup>th</sup> National Dairy Products Judging Contest was organized at SMC College of Dairy Science, AAU, Anand on 7<sup>th</sup> September, 2017. The contest was sponsored by Gujarat Milk Marketing Federation Ltd, Anand.

Sensory evaluation is a measurement of product characteristics as perceived by human senses. It is a technique used in industries like food and beverage, (especially in dairy foods; wine and beer; tea and coffee) to judge or predict the acceptability of a product by the consumer at the other end. In any product; flavour, colour, appearance, taste and texture are the characteristics that determines its sensory attributes.



Fourteen teams from dairy industries and nine teams from academic institutes participated in

the judging contest. Three different products namely milk, paneer and sweetened condensed milk were offered for judging.

An expert sensory panel comprising of Dr. H. K. Desai, GM Production, AMUL, Anand., Mr. Aditya Jain, Senior Manager, PPD, NDDB, Anand., Mr. S. K. Sen Gupta, Deputy Manager, QA, GCMMF., Shri V. N. Kapadiya, Head, QA, Valasad Union and Mr. Sanket Borat, Scientist, NDRI, Karnal also judged and scored the products.



Prize distribution ceremony was organized in the evening. Dr. J. B. Prajapati, Principal SMC College of Dairy Science, AAU, Anand in his welcome address briefed on various activities of the college. He added that sensory attributes is the foremost parameter for consumer acceptance and this unique event has gained tremendous momentum since its inception in 2003.

Amongst the participants from industries GCMMF Ltd., Anand secured first position. Dudhsagar Dairy, Mehsana was second and Sumul Dairy Surat secured third prize. SMC College of Dairy Science, AAU, Anand was ranked first among all contests from academic institutes. College of Dairy Technology, SVVU, Tirupati stood second and Mansinhbhai Institute of Dairy and Food Technology (MIDFT), Mehsana occupied third position. Ms. Anush Siby, representing Dudhsagar Dairy, Mehsana and Ms. Zeel S. Modi, from SMC College of Dairy Science, AAU, Anand were conferred with first prize for individual winners from industry and academia respectively.

Dr. D. K. Sharma, Group Head, QA & PPD, NDDB, Anand, the Chief Guest of the function,



endorsed that the taste is what ultimately defines the success of any food product and is an important tool for research and product development. He said that dairying have progressed a lot and is a major contributor to the GDP. He also summarized various activities carried out by OA & PPD at NDDB, Anand. He also embarked important on consideration to made during new

product development. He added that since we need to address a huge malnourished population, milk and milk products can be used as a fortification vehicle especially for the vegetarian community. He mentioned that the actual challenge before the scientific community is how to improve the nutritional value of a product without affecting its sensory acceptability.

Guest of Honour of the function, Dr. B. J. Patel, Principal & Dean, G. N. Patel College of Dairy Science Food & Technology, SDAU. Dandiwada congratulated the organizer and remarked that such events provide а common



platform for industry and academia for interaction and sharing knowledge.

Dr. K. B. Kathiria, Director of Research & Dean PG Studies, Anand Agricultural University, Anand in his presidential address congratulated the winners and organizers. He said that such events provide platform for gaining new skills and for exchange of knowledge. He urged technocrats to come up with more product innovations so as to cater to the different needs of customers.

Dr. Atanu Jana, organizing secretary of the event presented the report of judging contest and Dr. K. D. Aparnathi, President Alumni Association, proposed vote of thanks.